top of page

VEGAN SNICKERDOODLE COOKIES

Healthy Vegan Snickerdoodle Cookies

I distinctly remember going over to my mom's friend's house around the holidays and being greeted by a plate of fresh baked molasses cookies. Apart from the store bought roll of chocolate chip cookie dough, the homemade molasses cookies were my absolute favorite. I love the bittersweet taste of spiced cookies, like snickerdoodle, especially this time of year when heavily spiced cookies are a must.

Last night, I discovered possibly the most delicious, soft-baked snickerdoodle cookies. These are so fluffy, expand in the oven and almost melt in your mouth. The coconut sugar and cinnamon coating is such a delicate touch that adds an extra spark to these magnificent cookies. Hints of vanilla radiate throughout while coconut sugar offers a dark, intense richness that's neither over the top nor too subtle. It's practically like tasting Christmas. My recipe is a spin-off of one I found on Pinterest. Typically, I use recipes as a suggestion rather than a formula, so I end up creating my own concoction using the original recipe as a rough guideline. And here is my recipe to some of the healthiest yet tasty snickerdoodle cookies:

Ingredients:

  1. 1 1/3 cup flour ( I used a mix of gluten-free all purpose and whole wheat)

  2. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  3. 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

  4. A pinch of salt

  5. 3/4 cup coconut sugar sugar + 1 tablespoon for coating

  6. 1/4 cup coconut oil (softened for about 8 seconds in the microwave)

  7. 1 flax egg

  8. 1/4 cup unsweetened original almond milk

  9. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  10. 1/4 teaspoon almond extract

  11. 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon (for coating)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

  2. Prepare your flax egg by adding 1 tablespoon of flaxseed with 2 1/2 tablespoons of water.

  3. In a medium bowl mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

  4. In a separate medium bowl, combine the coconut sugar with the softened coconut oil until it is well incorporated. The texture should resemble slightly damp sand. Mix in the flax egg and vanilla extract.

  5. Add your dry ingredients to your wet ingredients and mix until a dough forms. I had to use my hands at the end to make sure all the flour was well combined.

  6. Use a tablespoon to scoop your dough and form balls. Gently press the balls with two fingers to flatten and form into a round disc that still has some volume.

  7. To make your coating, mix your tablespoon of coconut sugar with 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon on a small plate.

  8. Bake in preheated oven for exactly 10 minutes as they should still be soft.

  9. Remove from oven and let sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes. Move the cookies to a rack to cool completely.

  10. Store in airtight container.

If you made these cookies, please let me know how the turned out for you! Tag me on Instagram or drop me a message. I think you'll love them and want to make them all the time!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page